Cinemafique

Taking the filler out of filmmaking.

Wes Craven Upset Over ‘Nightmare’ Remake

Posted by Brian on 06/10/2009

Wes CravenSource: IGN

If you thought you were the only person pissed off about the new Nightmare On Elm Street remake, you’re not the only one. IGN recently spoke with Wes Craven who stated that he “has had no contact with Platinum Dunes about the project, and that he feels genuinely hurt by what’s happened.” Craven, who wrote and directed the original based on a dream he had, said “its such an important film for me that, unfortunately, when I signed the original contract I gave up all rights to it and so there’s nothing I can do about it.”

In contrast, Wes Craven was much more involved in The Last House On The Left and The Hills Have Eyes remakes. “I was much happier with Last House on the Left that I could kind of shepherd it towards production and we found a really wonderful director.” I’m not really sure how to feel about any of this. On prinicpal alone, I hate the idea of remakes. Platinum Dunes started off well enough with The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, but have since consistently gotten worse.

“I don’t even know who’s doing it and I’m not interested. It’s the film of mine that I probably love the most, and which made the most money. The script went around Hollywood for three years and nobody touched it and I went through all my life savings and everything else to pay for it, so I had to make the deal I did. Frankly, at that time I thought it would be one movie and that’s it. I never thought it would go on and on and on.”

A Nightmare On Elm Street stars Jackie Earle Haley as Freddy Krueger, and is being helmed by video director Samuel Bayer. The script was written by Wesley Strick (Wolf, Cape Fear).

Leave a Reply

 
